top of page
Search

MEET TALENTED ARTIST...MARIA!

Meet the Maker ⭒

    Hey there, I’m Maria! I’m a 20-year old, goofy human who likes to make stuff with my fingers. Anything from paintings, dream catchers, tie dye, clay, & other funky works-in-progress can be found stacked up in my room & car. I’m working my way up to a studio in the very near future, so I’ll be able to have a designated space to harness some organization throughout the chaos 📷

    Creative energy & an awe of our expansive natural world has flowed within my being since my fresh mind began to comprehend its surroundings. Being nurtured with the love & example of my crafting, garden-growing, imagination-fueling parents was more than encouraging. Planting flowers & fruits, making fairy houses, playing in the mud, & gluing together recyclables with sticks, leaves & glitter were a few of my favorite activities growing up.  Nothing has changed much as a young adult, except for the fact that other people want to own my creations & the dried mud that I play with is actually functional :)



⭒ Genesis of Hippie Little Trees ⭒

    From an early age, I was a consistent viewer of the father of art, Bob Ross. In his show ‘The Joy of Painting’ (Netflix: ‘Chill with Bob Ross’), he effortlessly created landscape scenes like mountain ranges, sunsets, & oceans. He did so at a pace so that one could learn & paint along with him. Throughout the show, he would often refer to each element in his piece as if it had a soul. Squirrels & birds were close friends & clouds were sneaky, but my favorite example, and often the most memorable from the program, was his use of the term “happy little trees”. This kind of language deeply resonated within me, & has since then been influential & grounding in the way I view life. When I decided I wanted to start sharing my “free-spirited” art to the rest of the world, I knew I had to credit the man who not only inspires my art, but impacts my thought patterns & way of existing as one with all of creation. 

    I’ve been in the habit of gifting my work away, but the launch of my Etsy shop June 1st, 2018 has helped to put me in a business mindset. A (naïve, but valid) dream that has sprouted from this is that my work will reach & touch enough people, so that one day creating can become a living. 

⭒ heARTwork: any form of self-expression using pure loving intention ⭒

    My goal in life is to embody happiness. Whether it be from my presence or my pieces, I aspire to leave every encounter with the other feeling refreshed, cared for, & whole. Reminding others of their worth & importance in this world is something I feel we have all been called toward, & using my fingers to create pieces with loving intention is the way I believe I express it best.

I’m ecstatic to have the opportunity to be able to share my heARTwork with you & my hope is that at least one thing you see makes your heart flutter 🦋📷

📷 To follow along my journey of art & life, I’m on instagram @hippielittletrees 

📷 To adopt a creation, a portion of my pieces are available in my Etsy shop, Hippie Little Trees ( https://www.etsy.com/shop/HippieLittleTrees or you can message me if you’d like info on a piece you see here not listed, or for custom work 📷️

6 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page